Video Practice with the Canon 5D

I’ve been saving up to buy a new DSLR camera because I really would like one with HD video. In the meantime, I’ve been borrowing a Canon 5D Mark II from my school and filming random places I go.

Firstly, and most importantly, there is a beautiful little place called Woodstock Farm on Chuckanut Drive, right before that first 90 degree left turn. I can’t really pinpoint it any better than that. I had driven by it many a time and there was construction going on so I couldn’t stop and figure out what it was. When I finally did, I discovered a BREATHTAKINGLY GORGEOUS country estate built in the early 1900s by Cyrus Gates, who would later become known for establishing many of the parks around Bellingham. Though all the buildings are closed to the public, you can still walk the trails and through the fields and on the newly built boardwalk to a scenic overlook. And, as there are only two parking spaces (the city suggests you follow the Interurban Trail or walk from the North Chuckanut Mt. trailhead), there are very few people there so you basically get this whole place to yourself! Anyway, I’ve signed up to volunteer here with general upkeep of the property and so far, it’s been really great (though it’s getting a little too cold).

Here’s a 360 degree view from the middle of one of the “pastures” (more footage of Woodstock Farm is at the end of my 5D Weekend video at the end of this post). NOTE: All of these videos best viewed in hi-def fullscreen, as it is a 1080p outdoor/landscape video:

Secondly, I try to drive on every single road at least once. When I have to sit and look at topo maps all day for class, I’m really just looking up new roads so I can find out where they go (hopefully somewhere scenic). Also on Chuckanut Drive, there is a road called Hiline Road (which has been closed for the months of September and October, but is now open!). Hiline becomes gravel and then becomes Cleator Road and takes you basically straight up hill with only two switchbacks to the top of Chuckanut Mountain. Surprisingly, as there is no signage anywhere, there’s a parking lot with picnic tables and bathrooms! And access to the Chuckanut Ridge Trail. Unfortunately, it was freezing and there was a thin layer of snow but it’s definitely a place to come back to in the spring, perfect for a picnic and a hike.

It was kinda dark/wintery/overexposed/foggy so the visuals aren’t so good but here again is a 360 degree view at the top of Chuckanut Mountain (or rather the parking lot):

And finally, a couple weeks/months ago I filmed my weekend in order to learn all the controls on the 5D and the basic features of Final Cut Pro X. My dad and sister came up to Bellingham and we went to Teddy Bear Cove (also on Chuckanut Drive!) and Woodstock Farm. The next day was just hanging out with friends, trying to make them do cool things for the camera, generally failing.

4 thoughts on “Video Practice with the Canon 5D

Leave a Reply

