L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue & Fontaine-de-Vaucluse

Last weekend, we also had a school field trip to the towns of Isle-sur-la-Sorgue and Fontaine-de-Vaucluse. In English, that would be “Island on the River Sorgue” and “Fountain of the Vaucluse.” The first is a town that is literally built on the river, therefore it is called the “Venice of France.” It is also the “antique capital of France” (maybe it and Snohomish should be sister cities?). I really love antiquing but its SUPER EXPENSIVE here (as everything is…). So we walked around the town and there was a market where we got lunch. I bought dried strawberries, fougasse aux oignons (kinda like foccacia bread with onions), and pommes Provencal (potatoes in a tomato sauce with Provencal herbs). I also made my first ever cheese purchase. A real aged slice of “cantal” cheese, rind and everything. It’s one of the oldest in France and a really big accomplishment for me as I usually stick to those you can buy in a grocery store, in America, and put on grilled cheese.


That dog from Annie.


French version of Diplomacy?

After lunch, we went to Fontaine-de-Vaucluse. The town is famous because of the river that comes straight out of a the rocky hillside (because it starts as an underground river somewhere). There was a lot of pretty scenery, though it was raining. Reminded me a bit of home! I also went to my first WWII museum in France, though our time was cut short by a change in departure time. I have a “France during the Occupation” class and my last paper topic was “Transportation during the Exodus of Paris.” After seeing the museum, I think my next paper will be on how bakeries were affected by food rationing. Because, I love bakeries.

One thought on “L’Isle-sur-la-Sorgue & Fontaine-de-Vaucluse

  1. Great info and photos as usual. The 6th photo looks like it could be the foster’s french home for imaginary friends. Keep exploring and having fun!

Leave a Reply

