Marseilles, Marchutz, & Mazarin

Yesterday, I had a field trip to Marseilles with my archaeology class. I’d only been once before for my medical visit and after this I think I’ve seen it all! Marseilles is France’s 2nd biggest city and (according to a newspaper article I read) there are at least 300 crimes (major and minor) each day and in summary is NOT. APPEALING. In fact, many people in France don’t like it and they say, “You might as well go to North Africa while you’re at it.” It’s different from any other city in France and when it was named “European Capital of Culture 2013,” all of France laughed. They don’t believe it is in any way related to their culture. The city is pretty much completely run by the mafia, their government is controlled by the mafia, and my archaeology teacher complained that the site we visited was not being preserved because they (government/mafia) don’t allot any money towards preserving anything of historical value (hence, the irony of “capital of culture”). The site overlooks the main city area and the public housing that was built in the ’60s and should be avoided by all means necessary and is the site of many a car burning (among other things, like murder). The historic Vieux Port where we ate lunch has many a body, their feet in cement, resting at the bottom of it.


My second time eating in a restaurant – “Pasta Carbonara”


The archaeological site that we visited – my professor used to work here


My prof (I should probably stop taking picture of people while they’re talking)


“Boulevard of Sugared Bread.” How I’d love to live on a road with a name like that (added to summer apartment wishlist).

Today, it was absolutely gorgeous out. Didn’t even need to wear a coat. So Paige and I walked to Marchutz (the art school connected to IAU) so that I could see what it was all about. Pretty unimpressive, but delightfully art-y. I like being around artists and art supplies. Maybe this comes from spending all my lunches with Taylor N. in the art room in high school. I enjoyed it.


Path to the school

After that we walked to the Mazarin Quarter because Paige had never been there and I had never photographed it. I really didn’t find anything to take pictures of but I might go back later at a different time of day. It’s the part of town that is laid out in a grid (the ONLY part). It was built during the 17th century as a luxury residential area, and still is today. It’s also home to the St. Jean-de-Malte church which I think has a far prettier interior than the Cathedral Saint-Sauveur. I think I will do a church video because it’s hard to capture the atmosphere of churches with just my camera.


These are everywhere in European cities; do you know what they were used for? They were added onto walls during the Plague (meaning the 1300s to the 1700s) so that people didn’t have to leave their houses to pray. They could just lean out their window.


This places serves BAGELS and CUPCAKES. And it’s reasonably priced. This is incredibly rare and incredibly exciting. I will visit it soon, even though it is very obviously catering to people like me and is not authentically French. I have reached the halfway point and now I long for the comforts of home.

One thought on “Marseilles, Marchutz, & Mazarin

  1. As for photos of people while they are talking… those are called Action Photos. Not a problem.
    Your tour of the art school is nice and I’m glad you were able to get some walking in.

Leave a Reply

